How Do You Become a Home
Inspector in Wisconsin?

Are you ready to lay the foundation of your own home inspection business? We've created a comprehensive guide to help you cement your new

career as a home inspector in Wisconsin. Follow the steps below to learn more about home inspection courses (and why they're necessary), taking

the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE}, and where to go from here.

1.
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Prerequisites:

+ A background check is not required, but applicants are required to disclose their criminal history.
= Notarized application and fingerprints are not required.
= There is no minimum age requirement.

Complete 40 Hours of a Wisconsin-Approved Home
Inspection Course

The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services mandates that all home inspectors must be certified. The first stepin

obtaining a Wisconsin Home Inspector License is completing the required 40-hour state-approved home inspection course.

Professional home inspection training from a reputable home inspection school is key to understanding Wisconsin home inspection
law. Many home inspection associations and industry professionals agree that this coursework is essential to setting yourself up for
success from the start.

Pass the National Home Inspector Examination

After completing your home inspector courses, the next step in establishing yourself as a trusted expert is passing the National Home
Inspector Exam. The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions (25 of which are not scored) covering three major domains, or
sections, that every home inspector should know. Those domains are:

« Property and Building Inspection/Site Review
= Analysis of Findings and Reporting
» Professional Responsibilities

Test takers are given 4 hours to complete the exam, and each attempt costs roughly $225 {depending on your location). Due to the
unignorable cost of taking the exam, we highly recommend taking an Exam Prep course to greatly increase your chances of passing on
the first try. If an individual does not pass, they must wait 30 days before taking the exam again.



3. Complete the Wisconsin Home Inspector Statutes
and Rules Exam

Once you've passed the NHIE, it's time to take the Wisconsin Home Inspector Statutes and Rules Exam (WHIS).

After you've scheduled your exam, submit yvour application for home inspector registration (Form #2466) with the exam fee. When
the application has been processed, you will be assigned an exam name, password, and application 1D number. You must achieve an
85% or better on the Home Inspector Statutes & Rules exam in order to pass.

Complete Wisconsin Form #2466 and Provide
Proof of Completion of Your NHIE and WHIS Exams

Once you've passed both exams, fill out the rest of Form #2446,

Pay the $126 Fee & Submit your Home Inspector
Application to the Wisconsin Department of Safety
and Professional Services

Lastly, pay the $126 application fee and submit your application to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
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